The department of Anaesthesiology and Critical care fulfils different needs of many clinical departments of the Institute. The following facilities and services are available

Anaesthesia service for Elective and Emergency operations

Anaesthesia service for CT, MRI, ECT etc

Round the clock ICU services for critically ill patients.

The following staff members are present in the department:

Professor—Dr. S. Dutta

Associate professor- Dr. Rupankar Nath, Dr. D. Sutradhar 

Assistant Professor-Dr. A. Das, Dr. A Bhattacharjee, Dr. L Chandralekha Singh, Dr. Ranadhee Paul

Registrar/ Sr. Resident— Dr. Poonam Sharma, Dr Sarmin Sultana Choudhury

Anaesthetist- Dr Ahmed Zahid, Dr Amita Hojai, Dr. Sangita Kumari Yadav



MO- Dr. Arunima Singha, Dr. Hamimur Rahman Laskar, Dr. Siddhartha Kumar Dutta


: The Post graduate course In the subject is recognised by MCI and the annual intake is 5(Five) per year. In addition to UG and PG courses the department also runs different Para medical Diploma courses, like Diploma in ICU Technology- 3 seat/year and Diploma in OT Technology- 3 seats/year. The Faculty members are engaged in research works also and publish research papers in national and International journals. CME, workshop and regional conferences are also organised by the department.